Woodland Berry Cowl: Knitting Lace

I have a few rows of lace done on my woodland berry cowl. The first row of lace was done with a #5 needle at about the same tension I did the ribbing at. The second row, per directions, was done with a #7 needle again at about the same tension as the ribbing. While the decrease four together is making some delightful bubbles in the texture of the knitting I feel like the holes for the yarn overs were getting lost in my tight knitting. I’m trying to get progressively looser in the knitting to give it a more lacy feel. It might just be the yarn I chose but I really do think that I am accidentally tugging my yarn overs as I go. Below is a picture of my work so far. Not turning out like the picture posted with the pattern.

Maybe this is really why people keep making up their own knitting patterns, to have patterns that match their knitting style.

close up of the lace portion of my knitting

Leave a Reply

